Whoville Granted Reprieve Through February 28

Whoville Granted Reprieve Through February 28

On January  27, 2014, the Eugene City Council granted Whoville a 30-day stay of execution until February 28.

City Manager Jon Ruiz has assigned Deputy Chief of Special Operations, Joe Zaludek, to work with Whoville to find a new location.  After our first meeting with him, we are hopeful.  Our next meeting with him is scheduled for Tuesday the 11th of February.

We are informed the City Manager prefers private instead of public land for Whoville.  All are aware that we are unlikely to secure private land within our thirty day clemency period.  Therefore we are seeking public land for a short period of time (6 months) until we can develop an exit strategy and destination from that temporary site.

Three temporary sites on public land are currently being discussed for Whoville.  All three sites are listed for future development.  However, Whoville’s need is short term.

 

1.     Eighth and Mill, directly south across the street from the new Federal Building which was on the City Manager’s original list of properties that meet Council criteria for a Rest Stop.

2.     Under the Ferry Street Bridge.

3.     Underutilized parking lot just west of Louis Chinese Restaurant on Franklin.

 

We currently perceive three possible choices that the Council might make though more may evolve.  Obviously, the first choice is not acceptable and will require a dramatic and immediate response from the SLEEPS community.  Choice three will require lots of us to help with the move and with the cleanup of the current site.

 

1.     Shut Whoville down without providing a new site for them, forcing them back to the streets

2.     Extend Whoville’s stay at the current location for a length of time to complete arrangements for a new site

3.     Transition Whoville to a new site on the 28th.

 

Council members have noted that when Whoville first settled at Broadyway/Hilyard, Council members heard lots of objections.  After four months at the site, objections have diminished greatly and increasingly, they are receiving email and phone calls supporting a “place to be” for Whoville!

 

Council Meeting Monday, February 10, 7:30.  Arrive after 7:00 but before 7:30 if you wish to speak at the public forum.  Your voice is VERY important….and if you prefer to simply attend in solidarity, then your presence alone is a powerful message (especially in this weather!).

 

A decision on Whoville will be made at either the Monday February 24th 7:30 meeting OR the Wednesday, February 26th Noon meeting.  When we know which, we will let you know.  In any event, please plan to attend the Monday 24th meeting as the last time our voices can be heard before a decision is made.

 

Please!  Continue to contact your representatives on the Council (info below).

 

To write the Eugene Mayor, Councilors and City Manager all at once, email to:

 

 mayorcouncilandcitymanager@ci.eugene.or.us

 

If you prefer to write to them individually, email to:

 

MAYOR, Kitty Piercy:  541-682-5010      Kitty.Piercy@ci.eugene.or.us

WARD 1, George Brown: 541-682-8341 George.r.brown@ci.eugene.or.us

WARD 2, Betty Taylor: 541338-9947     Betty.L.Taylor@ci.eugene.or.us

WARD 3, Alan Zelenka: 541 682-8343    Alan.Zelenka@ci.eugene.or.us

WARD 4, George Poling: 541-517-3110 George.A.Poling@ci.eugene.or.us

WARD 5, Mike Clark:  541-682-8345       Mike.Clark@ci.eugene.or.us

WARD 6, Greg Evans:                                   Greg.A.Evans@ci.eugene.or.us

WARD 7, Claire Syrett 541-682-8347      Claire.M.Syrett@ci.eugene.or.us

WARD 8, Chris Pryor: 541-682-8348       Chris.E.Pryor@ci.eugene.or.us

CITY Mgr., Jon Ruiz: 541-682-5010         Jon.r.ruiz@ci.eugene.or.us